Return to Governors

Governing Body

The governing body of Giles Junior School is composed of parents, representatives of the local community and the local authority, and school staff. Governors have legal powers, duties and responsibilities. Our role is to work strategically with the school’s senior leadership team, challenging and questioning the school, identifying priorities for improvement and ensuring that these are implemented and that we achieve value for money from our budget. We also work with all staff to provide support and encouragement, recognising and celebrating the school’s achievements. The governing body has committees and working parties to allow us to focus on specific areas. Some of us have individual responsibilities as well covering key areas, such as curriculum subjects and pupil safeguarding . We have three main committees:

  • Curriculum and Standards – pupil achievement and attainment
  • Resources – finance, premises and personnel.

We have a working party looking at the strategic development of the school. Being a governor is both challenging and rewarding. We need to keep abreast of the continuing local and national changes to education policies and guidance so that we can make a valuable contribution to school improvement. As governors we appreciate how much time and energy is given to the school by its dedicated staff. The Chair of governors can be contacted via


Name Category Appointing Body Terms of Office Committee Responsibility Interests/Other Governor Roles
Mrs Karen Wheatland Co-opted Governing Body 12/10/17 – 11/10/21
  • Ex-officio all committees
  • Chair
  • Safeguarding/ Looked After Children
  • PHSE/SRE/Science
Mr William Hadall Co-opted Governing Body 29/08/17 – 28/08/21
  • Chair Resources
  • Strategy/Pupil Disciplinary
  • Vice-Chair
  • Maths
  • MD of Miramar Consultants LTD, which supplies clerking services to school
  • Spouse to Clerk
Mrs Heather Davies Headteacher 01/08/10 –
  • Resources
Mr Ric Euteneuer Local Authority Local Authority 01/09/18 – 31/08/22
  • Pupil Disciplinary
Creative Curriculum
  • School Place Planning Strategy Officer- Southwark Council
  • Clerk to St Cyprian’s Greek Orthodox Primary Academy
Mrs Dawn De-Vall Co-opted School Parents 03/10/17 – 02/10/21
  • Chair Curriculum and Standards
  • Strategy/Pupil Disciplinary
  • Pupil Premium/literacy
Mrs Sarah Allcock-Green Co-opted Governing Body 05/09/17 – 04/09/21
  • Pupil disciplinary/
  • Curriculum and Standards committee
  • Inclusion
Mrs Emma Norman Co-opted Governing Body 02/12/15 – 01/12/19
  • Curriculum and Standards
  • Pupil Disciplinary
  • Creative curriculum
Miss Sophie Bichener Co-opted Governing Body 19/03/18 – 18/03/22 Resources

Pupil Diciplinary

Vacancy Co-opted
Vacancy Co-opted
Vacancy Co-opted
Mrs Elizabeth Fisher-Long Parent School Parents 25/09/17 – 24/09/21


Resources MSA – Giles Junior School
Vacancy Parent School Parents
Vacancy Parent
Mr Ross Marshall Staff School staff 28/01/14 – 27/01/18
  • Curriculum and Standards
  • TA Giles Junior
Mrs Mary Hadall Clerk Governing body
  • Spouse to Bill Hadall